• The Early
  • Posts
  • VC Interview Prep Resources + Thank You <3

VC Interview Prep Resources + Thank You <3

Early VC - 2nd Edition

Hi everyone! A huge thank you for all the positive feedback on the VC job board and a warm welcome to everyone who’s joined and shared with friends this past week 😊 (See the end of this email for a fun thank you!)

As always, I’d love to hear from you and serve as a resource in your early-career journey - reach me here: [email protected] 🤗 

🚨 Before we dive into this week’s VC job postings, I want to shout out one special role: Catapult Ventures, a hard-tech VC firm based in Los Altos, CA, is hiring a Technical Associate (0-3 YOE, engineering background preferred), which will be its first non-partner hire 🤩 An incredible opportunity to learn from the best of the best in hard-tech investing. In college, the Catapult team took me on for my first-ever internship in VC, which built my foundational knowledge. Couldn’t recommend them more ✨ 

With that, see below for what’s new this week! 🥳 

New VC Roles This Week

Internships 😍 
Analyst Roles 😊 
Associate/Senior Associate Roles 🤗 
Portfolio Operations Roles 🤠 

Roles Still Open From Last Week

❗️ Note that many VC roles are posted without application deadlines and filled on a rolling basis - if you see one you like, I’d recommend applying within a week, or as soon as possible!

  • VC Interview Questions: Investopedia’s VC Interview Guide

    • A few questions I’ll add to this list (more on this in a future post):

      • Describe your ‘network.’ How will you get in front of the best deals? (I know this is a weird one, but it gets asked a lot.)

      • Walk me through an investment memo. What are the key components? Great memo example here from Jonathan Chang.

      • What stands out to you about our firm’s investment thesis? Are there sectors we’re missing that we should be looking into?

  • The Economics of VC: Article by a16z: Great overview of the financial and operational sides of VC.

  • VC Compensation Benchmarks: EVCA’s Comp Survey - Love EVCA’s salary transparency data - check this out when negotiating comp 💪 

  • ..more to come soon!

Refer a Friend to the Early VC, Win $50 🙂 

I’ve gotten so many positive messages - you all are awesome! Many of you have told me you’ve been recommending friends to my page and I wanted to do something fun to say thanks 💓 If you do refer a friend, use the link below and get entered to win a $50 gift card to anywhere of your choice (you’ll get entered once for every person you refer, and if you’ve already referred someone just message me!) p.s. we’re still a small but mighty community, so chances are quite good 😝 We’ll be closing this on Feb. 19th!

That’s all for this week, thanks so much for reading! 🙂 

-Mic (find me on IG, Twitter/X (a work in progress), & LinkedIn)

(P.S. I get a lot of questions about the platform I’m using for this newsletter - using beehiiv right now and enjoying it so far!)

Reply

or to participate.